A Dance of Dragons: Series Starter Bundle by Kaitlyn Davis



Price: Free!

Official Rating: 4/5

Note: I received the Series Starter Bundle which came with “The Golden Cage” (Dance of Dragons #0.5) and the first official book of the series (“The Shadow Soul”).


The Golden Cage (Dance of Dragons #0.5)

“In the land of Ourthuro, cruelty is a way of life. The king rules with an iron fist and no one dare defy him–no one except his daughter. Princess Leena is keeping a dangerous secret, she has fallen in love with a soldier and it would mean both of their lives if her father ever discovered their affair.

But Leena will risk it all to be with the man she loves–her heart, her life, her freedom. And when her brother’s birthday celebration takes a dangerous turn, Leena is forced to make a decision that will change the fate of her nation and eventually the world.”

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons #1)

“When Jinji’s home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to–until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn’t mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret–magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.

But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence–it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn…”

My Review:

I loved both the book and the short story and I’m sorry that the whole collection wasn’t free, otherwise I would have continued it. I bought this book thinking that it was about dragons, but for the most part, a dragon was only mentioned once and it wasn’t in the fire-breathing-angry-dragon way I was expecting. Nonetheless, Davis wrote this book in a graceful way, using magic and deep secrets that the two main characters possessed in a way that I was hooked. I loved how Davis gave the reader a short story that gave a tiny background for some of the characters. Once I connected them to the second book, I gasped on the inside.

I also adored Rhen and Jinji’s relationship. Jinji had a certain spice to her and Rhen had a careful love to him. I liked the secrets that Jinji held specifically from Rhen and how he never knew the truth until the very end (which I will get back to later). There were plot twists and I couldn’t guess any part of the book, it was completely original, I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I recommend it.

I still gave it a 4/5 instead of a perfect score because of how the ending was delivered. I realize that in order to lead the way to the second book, you need a cliffhanger, but it felt rushed and “empty”. As if Davis ran out of the usual descriptive and engaging writing style she usually had and went with a rather stale ending.

The Blemished (Blemished series) by Sarah Dalton



Price: Free!

Official Rating: 2/5


“A beautiful world comes at a price…

In a world filled with stunning clones Mina Hart is Blemished. Her genes are worthless and that takes away her rights: her right to an Education, her right to a normal life and her right to have a child.Mina keeps a dangerous secret which she never thought she could share until she meets Angela on her first day at St Jude’s School. But their friendship is soon complicated by Angela’s adoptive brother Daniel. Mina finds herself drawn to his mysterious powers and impulsive nature. Then there is the gorgeous clone Sebastian who Mina is forbidden from even speaking to…The Blemished is a frightening take on a fractured future where the Genetic Enhancement Ministry have taken control of Britain. It will take you on a ride filled with adventure, romance and rebellion.

My Review:

“Once, my mum told me a story about a princess, and it began with her stuck in a castle. My story begins with my head stuck in the toilet.”

I love how the story begins. It captured me and gave a promise that the book would be interesting. The promise wasn’t completely kept. We’re introduced with this (beginning to be over-used) concept of genetically enhanced humans (called Gems) and the people that aren’t genetically enhanced, the blemished (called Blems). First off, I see that they rhyme,thank you for that, but blem and gem just aren’t original names (or nicknames rather) it’s a bit silly.

There was an attempt at suspense, but because of the predictable plot and the equally predictable characters, Blemished didn’t have any chance at being suspenseful. This is partially because Mina, the main character, had a bit too much good luck.

Continue reading