Review| Tears, Music, & Harmony

 

26571461

(credit)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Synopsis:

“Eleanor is a singer. Her songs keep nature in balance, but when they are stolen from her, a grey mist descends and her world fails to thrive. This timid orphan is thrust into a course of action she never asked for, nor envisioned. Set against a backdrop of abandonment, loss and betrayal, she must find her way through strange and dangerous landscapes in her desperate search for the Perfect Tear, a dark crystal which holds the future of her world. But, Eleanor is no savior. She is a simple girl with strong instincts and she must learn to trust them. Just like the notes of song must connect to create a melody, Eleanor must discover the connections needed to create the harmony required to truly save her world.”

My Review:

Ugh. Honestly.

Books like these just don’t help when you’re still reeling from some other book breaking your heart.

Lansberg has poured hand sanitizer in my paper cut and I can’t say I like that very much.

And yet, I ate it up, didn’t I?

(Not the hand sanitizer, the book)

Okay, truly? I was rooting for the villain when I started reading this. I didn’t know they were the villain, but I just wanted them to succeed, it seemed like it was the right thing, the cause, you know? So imagine my surprise when they become the villain and at one point, in my notes I said,

I don’t want Eleanor hurt! But I want [them] to win!!!

Not only that, the person who I thought was the villain, was good, and vice versa. I’m really impressed by that.

I’ve never felt this type of conflict before, or maybe I have and my brain is like “you don’t pay me enough to remember these things” (are books not currency!?) but I was torn as to who to root for, but by the end, that quickly changed.

And that is a great segue into the characters. I was hesitant to pick up The Perfect Tear at first. I wasn’t sure if this was going to be something I enjoyed and it was such a hassle to get the book (which wasn’t Lansberg’s fault in the least, but technology being silly), that I just had no idea to expect. But Lansberg wrote characters I wasn’t forced to care about. She didn’t write characters that I was grudgingly reading about to see what happens next. Instead she wrote characters I wanted to care for, who I worried about, even if they weren’t of the kindest of nature. Since none of the other characters are mentioned in the synopsis, I’ll only talk of Eleanor.

I really liked Eleanor. I can’t relate to her in the slightest because of how different our lives are, but I loved reading about her and her adventures. Everything about her was genuine and I read her parts of the book in a kind, but firm and gentle voice. I was truly impressed by her gradual (and sometimes quick) character development and how she never lost who she was, even when things got very difficult at a young age.

The plot was great. It starts off kind of steady, not quite slow, but not fast either. The pace isn’t slow for the rest of the book, but is just really steady, which is how I can best describe it. You gradually learn about the world The Perfect Tear takes place in a way that even though there’s a pretty healthy amount of information, you don’t feel overwhelmed. Some things didn’t make sense to me, but if I re-read it, I’m sure everything would click.

Lansberg’s writing is awesome too. I could see the scenery through her descriptions, hear the voices of each character in the dialogue, feel the different emotions the different people felt, overall it was quite enjoyable.

There was one part of the book that was very emotional and I ended up reading it at 1AM at the exact moment Stay With Me by Sam Smith came on Spotify, so that went great and didn’t make my heart quiver at all.

Would I Recommend The Perfect Tear? I would! I liked this book a lot and I think it’s a great book to sit down and read.

Official Rating: 4/5

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Review| Tears, Music, & Harmony

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

