Review | Magic, Liver, and Adventure

MW1KindleCover1-20RGB.jpeg

(credit: received from author)

Kindle Price: $5.99

Synopsis:

Everyone in the islands of O’Ceea has a magical ability: whatever they imagine can be brought into existence. Whoever becomes a master over these powers is granted the title of magician and is given fame, power, riches, and glory. This volume of books follows the journey of a group of kids as they strive to rise to the top and become members of the Magician’s Workshop.

Layauna desperately wants to create beautiful things with her magical powers, but all she can seem to do is make horrible, savage monsters. For years she has tried to hide her creations, but when her power is at last discovered by a great magician, she realizes that what she’s tried to hide might actually be of tremendous value.

Kai just wants to use his powers to have fun and play with his friends. Unfortunately, nearly everyone on his island sees him as a bad influence, so he’s forced to meet them in secret. When one of the creatures they create gets out of control and starts flinging fireballs at their town, Kai is tempted to believe that he is as nefarious as people say. However, his prospects change when two mysterious visitors arrive, praising his ability and making extraordinary promises about his future.

Follow the adventures of Kai, Layauna, and a boatload of other characters as they struggle to grow up well in this fantastical world.”

My Review:

My mom hates liver, but I don’t think it tastes too bad. I know some people who like licorice, but I can’t stand licorice. There are all sorts of things that aren’t for me, but are for other people, and I believe this is one of them.

I liked the characters, although there were too many for me. I don’t want to give an overestimate, but maybe there were at least 10 or so. Now, you may be thinking, “Great books alive, Paige, you can’t handle 10 characters in one book?” I can! But when I say characters, I mean 10 main characters. It was a heavy amount of things to take in. Each chapter was one person’s point of view and I was lost quite a bit into the story because I didn’t see the names at the beginning of the chapter. It was a little overwhelming for me and so that made it a bit difficult for me to enjoy it. Nonetheless, it’s clear that each character has a purpose and none are around just for the sake of careless writing.

I unfortunately didn’t really understand the plot. While I know there was a point to all of this, I felt that everything that happened never quite focused on it. It seemed like a really long, multi-POV tangent. By the time the book ends, you don’t even read about what the characters have been talking about the entire time because it leads to a sequel.

It isn’t that I didn’t like the characters or that Hansen’s writing is terrible. The entire book was extremely creative and I was very impressed at how far Hansen went to make the book whimsical, but also maintain a tone that lets the reader know that serious issues will also be dealt with. I think I, personally, am just not the intended audience. I enjoy books that have an older feel to it, which doesn’t go to say that this book is for children, but simply that this book wasn’t a good match for me.

Would I recommend The Magician’s Workshop? Honestly, I can’t not recommend it. This book didn’t work for me because of who I am and what I enjoy as a reader, not because the quality of the book was poor (it wasn’t). If you are intrigued by the synopsis and want to read it, then I say go for it!

Official Rating: */5

I received this book for free from the author & publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

