Review: Water Bearer by Wendi Christner

31416654

(credit)

Kindle Price: $4.99

Official Rating: 3/5

Goodreads Synopsis:

“Cassidy unintentionally set the fire that destroyed her family. Now that she has graduated high school, she spends one last summer with her best friend before she leaves the tiny farming community she grew up in. But this summer will change both their lives forever.

The endearing characters and bittersweet, moving story of everlasting love and forgiveness linger long beyond the final page. Written by the author of Writer’s Digest Short-Short Story winner “Throwing Stones.”

My Review:

I actually liked Water Bearer. I didn’t know who the author was, I barely read the synopsis (the second time around), and I kind of just dived in without checking to see how deep the water was. But, I only mildly bumped my head, which is a lot better than it could have been!

I need a word that’s in between like and love. Actually, I need this kind of setup: Hate < New Word(1) < Like < New Word(2) < Love < New Word(3). I need these words!! I’m feeling New Word #1 for the characters in this story.

On one hand, Cassidy and her best friend, Jared, have a very intimate relationship. I don’t mean XXX rated intimacy, but intimacy that goes deeper than hormones can go. Specifically speaking on their friendship, I liked to read about it because of how they are friends. They argue, they tease each other, they’re both comfortable with being who they are around each other, before anything else, Christner showed me their relationship as close friends.

Cassidy made me laugh a lot, she has a good amount of funny things to say. I felt bad for her because of her backstory, which is mentioned in the synopsis, and it made me want to not be too harsh on her. There turned out to be no real reason to be harsh on her anyway, because she’s a fairly okay character. I didn’t like her reasoning near the end though, I felt that she just came up with a quarter-baked excuse and called it a day because Christner needed to wrap up. But I’ll talk about that later.

Jared was adorable in a manly way. Sometimes he was sweet and other times it was obvious that he was still a man (I say that in the most innocent way possible). He’s part of the huge “plot twist” I’ll talk about later, but I felt that he was a good character, just a tad cliche.

The rest of the characters were alright too, truthfully, my favorite was Gima, Cassidy’s grandmother. I felt like she had the most personality of all of them, and maybe all of them combined.

(I’m just gonna tie the romance in with the talk about the plot. It is a romance novel after all)
The romance was okay. It clearly had some sexual undertones, and sometimes I would be scared I was going to turn the page and accidentally shake hands with a sex scene, but there was none so it was okay. To be clear, it wasn’t that Christner was writing stuff like “She unzipped his pants…” and then you had to turn the next page and hope for the best. It was just clear that Cassidy and her love interest cared for each other both emotionally and physically.
What I adored about the romance was the fact that not everyone was screaming “YOU TWO SHOULD GET TOGETHER.” You know how the families and family friends and friends and strangers always like “You two look like a happy couple.” or “You two are acting like you’re married.” or “You two would be so cute together, go on after her why don’t you?” It’s not plausible that everyone ships that same two people. So I really liked that Christner had a character who didn’t like the pairing at all. I did hate that character for her words, but boy was I glad she was in there.

Christner had me cracking up wayyyy too often in this book. I kept having to stop and make notes just so that when I wrote my review later, I might have a chance to read the funny parts again and laugh. (Turns out I didn’t laugh again, but that doesn’t make them any less funny.)

By the time I got to 59%, maybe three pages away from 60%, I was starting to get bored. At first the whole love interest and Cassidy going back-and-forth thing was interesting, but it was a huge chunk of the book and I was getting tired of reading it since it was basically the same thing. I wasn’t relieved when the book started to end, but I wasn’t upset either.

I felt that the plot twist was extremely cliche. I saw the huge “mind-blowing” twist years before it arrived in the book, so I did roll my eyes at it. Christner still made the reactions to the twist realistic, so I appreciated that. However, like I said, I think that Cassidy justified the “twist” with a reason that didn’t make much sense at all. I don’t want to say too much and give it away, but her thoughts weren’t even half-baked.

The ending was rather different than I thought it would be, so I give Christner props for that. Again, no spoilers, but Christner took a different route than I thought she would.

Would I Recommend Water Bearer? Honestly? I would. I enjoyed the book, it’s not too long, not too short, and has a good ending. The only thing I would suggest you keep in mind is that I got this book for free, but its retail price is $4.99. So if your question is, “Would you recommend this book for $4.99?” the answer would be No.

I received this book from eBook Discovery in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

