White Hart by Sarah Dalton (Review)

29569477

(credit)

Kindle Price: Free!

Official Rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

“In a land where magic has withered for centuries, Mae Waylander is the last magic wielder in Aegunlund. She is the craft-born. But Mae has kept her true identity hidden from the world, and she’s not about to reveal her secret. Not when the King is searching for the craft-born to marry his heir, Prince Casimir.

In Mae’s town of Halts-Walden, the ambitious miller claims his daughter Ellen is the craft-born. All Mae has to do is sit back and wait until Casimir and Ellen are married, then she will finally be free of the threat of her fate. But on that day an event so shocking and terrible occurs that Mae finds herself entering the neighbouring cursed forest on a quest she never thought she’d have to follow.

Join Mae as she rides her white stag through the Waerg Woods with a pampered prince at her heels. She’s out for revenge and nothing–no one–will get in her way.

Join Mae as she rides her white stag through the Waerg Woods with a pampered prince at her heels. She’s out for revenge and nothing, no one, will get in her way.”

My Review:

I’m actually extremely impressed by Sarah Dalton. I read her book The Blemished and I didn’t like it, but I loved White Hart.

Dalton created a world that though I would not want to live in, I imagined it perfectly.

I want to talk about the characters first. Wait no, the romance. No, the characters. We will talk about the characters.

I loved White Hart. She was strong, she was compassionate, she had flaws, and she knew the meaning of grief, remorse, and forgiveness. I was just so impressed I was going crazy. What stood out to me the most was her natural progression. She started off with one goal, which wasn’t a pure goal, and you can see how she grows personally throughout the book.

I liked Casmir as well. He’s a prince and Dalton presented him exactly how I believe a prince would act. He didn’t understand many mannerisms and how people who aren’t royal live. I liked him and his growth as well. His relationship (as in friendship) with White was really sweet, even though sometimes they were basically fighting.

The plot was amazing and I refuse to give spoilers (I say that often don’t I?), but I enjoyed every minute of it. To the point that, I no longer like Sarah Dalton. Any author who can get me so engrossed in a book that I nearly go into cardiac arrest when it ends on a cliffhanger must be feared! Just kidding. Maybe. In truth, I really was shocked when it ended on a cliffhanger, I thought all would be answered in one book. I almost screamed. For once, though, I’m not griping over the fact that it ended on a cliffhanger. Even though all of my questions weren’t answered, Dalton gave me enough that if I enjoyed series, I would want to continue to find out the rest. I’m not sure what Dalton did for White Hart that she didn’t do for Blemished, but it was magnificent. The imagery, the dialogue, the character growth and development, the characters themselves, the world building, all of it came together as a beautiful plot.

I have to talk about the romance. It was BEAUTIFUL. I think it’s pretty obvious who it would be between, but in case it’s not, I won’t say any names. The love interests aren’t immediately attracted to each other. White doesn’t think something along the lines of His shirt is tight against his chiseled/hard/broad chest and I have to turn my head before my ovaries explode. Instead, there’s no attraction at all! I loved it. The romance develops realistically, gradually, and in super cute ways. I hope it continues to be written so beautifully in the sequel.

I’m not sure if I would read the sequel. It’s very difficult for me to read a sequel a few days after I have finished the first book. If I had had the sequel as soon as I had finished White Hart, I would have definitely kept reading.
Would I Recommend White Hart? Yes! I really enjoyed it and I think you will too.

7 thoughts on “White Hart by Sarah Dalton (Review)

  1. swordsandspectres says:

    Sounds interesting. I have heard good things about the book. This review cements those good things. Imagine how bad it would have been when it ended on a cliff hanger and was originally released. I can’t think of anything worse than a cliff hanger and knowing I would have to wait months until the sequel was published.

    Liked by 1 person

      • swordsandspectres says:

        There are two authors that spring to mind now you have said this … George R.R Martin (Song of Ice and Fire) and Patrick Rothfuss (Name of the Wind). I think I will grow old and lose my eyesight before I ever get to read those books 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paige @ Between Reality says:

        I try to be REALLY careful when I start a book. First, I find out if it’s in a series, and then I find out if the next book is out yet. A book I adored (post: In Which You Get a Two For One) fortunately had all three books out by the time I started it, but I needed my heart to repair before I could start the third. But if I’m truly honest, usually I just charge in and hope there’s no sequel if the book is amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paige @ Between Reality says:

        Ugh! That’s a huge issue too. Reading a book and the next book doesn’t come out until the EXACT moment where you COMPLETELY forget about the last book(s). At least that isn’t a “make more money” scam, you don’t have to rebuy the old books (unless you sold them I guess).

        Like

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

