The Boy with Words by C.E. Wilson (Review)

(credit)

Kindle Price: $4.99

Official Rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

“White Frost has only ever known the darkness. Everything outside of her closed society is The Unknown – a strange and dangerous place accessible to only a chosen few. White’s only glimpse of the world beyond comes from her beloved cousin in the form of mysterious collections of words that hint at astonishing wonders. When an accident upends her simple existence, she’s given an unlikely chance to see the truth for herself. What she finds is greater and more terrible than she could have imagined, and before long she is forced to make the most important choice of her life: does she accept her safe, limited world that she’s known or take a desperate gamble in a world not meant for her with the Boy with Words?”

My Review:

The Boy with Words wasn’t what I expected it to be. I wanted to know what the backstory behind the title was, if this was going to be some bad cheesy love story, if White was going to lead some major rebellion or not…so many questions, all of them answered.

Wilson presented our world in a new light and I love how she did it. I was gently caught off guard and pleasantly surprised with her writing ability, the characters she created, and the plot that she wove. For once, there is no huge rebellion led by a severely under-qualified cardboard cut-out heroine. For once, one teenaged girl hasn’t held all the knowledge since she was born. For once, she isn’t unbearably decisive between two love interests. Gosh, what a masterpiece this was.

I liked White Frost through most of the book, towards the end I started to feel “meh,” but I can come to that later. White loves knowledge and she’s desperate to learn more about Unknown. White’s cousin, Shade, gives her small pieces of paper that contain haikus that describe the Unknown that only makes her want to explore more. White has a great head on her shoulders; she’s intelligent, wise with most of her decisions, and truthfully a loveable girl. Even though she was naive about some concepts, which eventually did bother me, it was understandable and made sense. White wasn’t naive about things that were obvious, but rather about things that she just didn’t know about.

Towards the end, I kind of felt she was selfish. I understand how important it is to be near your own people, but it seemed to me that she was asking for more than she would ever give. I know this is rather vague, but I’ll never forgive myself if I spoil the book for you all!

The other characters, like Salt, Kes, Shade, Pepper, and all of the likeable people that Wilson included, were great. I mostly just want to talk about Kes though. I liked Kes a lot, he was super cute and gentle and, man, I’d love to have a Kes for a friend. I felt bad for him throughout most of the book, but he seemed like an okay kid who was doing what he could to stay above water. I appreciated Wilson giving him a sincere down-to-earth kind of personality as well as an unique appreciation for the people around him.

The romance…hm…I liked that too. There was technically a love triangle, but I didn’t mind it, it actually helped the story along. The romance was genuine and was not instant, which I had feared at first. Instead, it built up through sincere moments and gracious, were those moments adorable.

The plot was healthy. That’s a new phrase I coined, so maybe I’ll use it more often. As I was saying, the plot was healthy. Instead of focusing on some kind of rebellion or uprising, it focused on people as collective individuals. The plot isn’t dense in a way that I felt like I was falling down a rabbit hole, but dense in the way that I had to read it in new eyes. Wilson made the amazing choice of ensuring that no character was bland, overlooked, simply given the insulting title “plot pusher,” or just a bystander. Every name was a person and every person mattered. I loved it and it’s obvious that this really contributed to The Boy with Words reaching its potential.

This will be the second time that I’ve said this, but I hope The Boy with Words has a sequel. Would I read it? Quite possible! My heart can barely handle anymore heavy reading, so if there is a sequel in the near future, I’m not sure. But I think that eventually, I’ll definitely be ready for one.

 

Would I Recommend The Boy with Words? Yes, I would. I had a lot of fun reading about the world in the future through someone else’s eyes and honestly, Wilson was brilliant with it.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

14 thoughts on “The Boy with Words by C.E. Wilson (Review)

  1. Ashley Opaw says:

    I’ve been coming back to your blog fairly regularly and I really like this particular post.
    Thank you and good luck.

    Like

  2. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    This sounds really different and interesting! There’s nothing I love more then real characters and not your average YA cut out and I don’t mind a love triangle if there’s a reason behind it and it helps move the story along 🙂
    Fantastic review Paige!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paige @ Between Reality says:

      Thank you! I love realistic YAs too, but it’s usually pretty hard to find one that doesn’t irk me, so this was a refreshing book to find. There’s a reason behind the love triangle so it was okay in my book. If you read it, I’d love to hear what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Paige @ Between Reality says:

      The love triangle honestly wasn’t so bad, mostly because White already knew who she wanted. It wasn’t an unbearable back and forth of “but do I love him? Or him? Well he makes me feel free but I feel safe with this other guy…who do I choose??” It was refreshingly straightforward!
      Feel free to use the phrase haha

      Like

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

