#GirlRogues: Braggadocio by Zizzi Bonah (Review)

#GirlRogues: Braggadocio

(credit)

Kindle Price: $4.99

Official Rating: */5

Synopsis:

“”They’re dangerous to love, more dangerous to loath – which girl are you?” Zizzi Bonah’s collection of Phem Phant Noir short stories and verses are for those with minds as broad as braggadocio, and nerves hard enough to rival a diamond from the first water. There’s the writer who murders words that press upon her page, and serves up a word-corpse poem… There’s the optician who extracts salt crystals from her clients’ tears, and dashes them on her fish and chips… Not forgetting, the lady who blinks a truth-moment into a picture, she is a living camera… HEALTH WARNING: This book is rather like surviving your renegade’s cooking, and should therefore be taken in small bites. For that reason, it comes with no letter of recommendation!

My Review:

Well. I’m sure you noticed that there’s no rating, but instead a star. The reason being is that as I read the book, I realized that this isn’t the type of thing I enjoy. (This was my first time trying out something like this) Therefore, I felt that it would be dishonest and unfair for me to give it a rating, since I’m severely biased. I don’t want my rating to be because of the genre of the book and not the content of the book. I had read the synopsis and the book did, of course, fit all my requirements/criteria for reviewing a book, but I just didn’t know what to expect.

It isn’t written in the “traditional” form of a book (like chapters and consistent characters and such things), so I was caught off guard. It took me maybe two short stories to get the hang of things and then I was okay.

I liked the writing, honestly. Bonah has a talent/gift/skill for details and I really enjoyed the tone of voice. It was somewhat a dainty kind of tone (the kind of voice one would imagine a ‘high-society’ lady would use when she’s at a tea) and the details that Bonah provided made the words come to life. Whenever a book has phrases that I really like, I highlight them in red via the Kindle app and it’s pretty safe to say, #GirlRogues: Braggadocio is pretty well highlighted.

There are a few short stories I liked the best. I liked “A Treasure” the most and “Queen Glitch,” but the others didn’t catch my fancy as much.

I would speak about a plot, but each short story has their own mini-mini plot so it’d be kind of difficult, but there is obvious structure in each story. Some stories take a bit of re-reading so that you can catch the full meaning of certain events, but Bonah did take time to create them.

 

Would I Recommend #GirlRogues: Braggadocio? I don’t know if it’s fair for me to say yes or no. I am biased, I will admit it. I personally didn’t enjoy it as much as other books because I don’t think this is a genre I like, but I did want to try out new things and I was interested. If this is the kind of thing you enjoy or you want to try out a new form of writing, I would recommend it. But I don’t know if I would pay $4.99 for it.

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “#GirlRogues: Braggadocio by Zizzi Bonah (Review)

  1. Lillith says:

    Hiya! I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or
    vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel that it could be pretty cool.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

