The 4th Floor Lounge by Amanda Hamm

16060797

(credit)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Official Rating: 3/5

Synopsis:

“Where does an extreme introvert draw the line between being lonely and being left alone? One quirky college student is looking for the answer in the 4th floor lounge.
Her goals are simple: make one or two good friends and avoid talking to everyone else. Achieving those goals will not be easy for this gorgeous yet socially awkward heroine. She’s constantly approached by guys who are not interested in friendship. And when she finally forms some solid bonds it’s her own romantic feelings that get in the way.”

My Review:

I wish I could say that I enjoyed The 4th Floor Lounge. I wish I could say that it was a beautiful romance and the characters were amazing and I squealed and laughed and giggled and couldn’t get enough. I wish I could say “five out of five stars, it was AMAZING. Read this book! Take notes single ladies, this is what you want your love life to be!” I wish I could say it.

The truth is that The 4th Floor Lounge made me feel sad. I had liked how Charlotte narrated everything and I really enjoyed that part, but everything went downhill from there. Charlotte’s life was just so depressing, it made it hard to breathe. I understand that people don’t have great lives and sometimes bad things happen, but Charlotte was just never given a chance to be happy. What made it even scarier was that she has a similar thought process to mine. Did that make it relatable? Yeah. I could kind of relate. But I didn’t want to. I wanted a nice romance story, not a story about romance with a character that makes my heart squeeze and my mind whisper, “Is that me?”

Charlotte was cute in my opinion. I loved her need for order in certain things, like not walking on grass, her love for wearing sundresses, and how she knew which floor was the 4th floor lounge. She didn’t really experience growth, but that was okay since it didn’t detract from the story. I think she’s a bit naive, but it never truly irked me. Sometimes I was just as confused as she was, but I always figured the issue out before she did. Charlotte didn’t get on my nerves, I saw myself in her, and I did like her as a character.

You’ll notice that I gave The 4th Floor Lounge a three-out-of-five star rating and I am sincere in that rating. Even though it made me sad, I can still recognize that Hamm was able to evoke emotion from me, which says something about her skill in writing. Even though the story lacked any real instance of a literary plot, I didn’t hate it. It felt like a really long diary without dates and life is still a plot. I think that there should have been much less focus on whatever made up the first twenty-four chapters and more attention given to the romance. The ending was disappointing because it wasn’t “And they lived happily ever after,” it was “oh. That’s it?”
Would I recommend The 4th Floor Lounge? I’m on the fence about this. One on side of the fence, I could relate to the character, her thought process which was great and realistic, and the writing was good. On the other side, it made me feel anxious and upset and the ending left me feeling empty. I think I have to leave this up to you, as the reader, to decide. I’d love to hear what you choose!

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

