Homegrown Terror (Project Forge series) by Steve White

Bit of a hiccup in the normal schedule due to my kindle malfunctioning, but I will post on Friday and continue with the schedule as per usual. 

24948756[1]

(credit)

Kindle Price: $0.99

Official Review: 1.5/5

Synopsis:

“Kendra is a soft spoken girl at school, and many of her friends would describe her independent and shy. But beneath the surface is a fierce warrior: Kendra is in fact a teen spy. Her “parents” are handlers for the National Security Agency, and she is sent on missions around the country. Her newest mission: a new homegrown terrorist organization has sprung up in the US, and she must tear the organization down. She will come up against more danger than she has ever faced before – will she save her country? Or will she die trying?”

My Review:

I feel bad about this book, it sounded interesting and I was hoping to enjoy it. In short, Homegrown Terror, is terribly boring. I don’t say that in a harsh way, allow me to explain.

Kendra doesn’t really have much to her. She is human, but acts as if she was given emotions, rather than born with them. That isn’t entirely her fault though. The story is told in limited third person, and the writing doesn’t make it work. I’ll get to that later. Throughout Homegrown Terror, Kendra doesn’t seem to feel much. I couldn’t connect with her, she did and felt everything in a matter-of-fact way. For instance, if she was kicked in the shin, her first response wouldn’t be “Ow!” it would be: I see. That hurt. I will say “Ow” now. “Ow!” She was an unrealistic character as well. I wasn’t expecting something extremely realistic, we are talking about a teenager working for the NSA here, but it was difficult to see her as a teenager. The whole book was about her being a teenaged spy, but with a few edits, I would have thought that she was a grown woman with a very small amount of human emotion. Despite all of the book following her adventures, I feel as if I didn’t even read about her. There should definitely have been more of a back-story for her, yet it was quickly glossed over. A teenager working for the NSA needs an epic back-story, especially if throughout the entire book, Kendra silently wishes she was ‘normal.’ It was a short read, yes, but there’s never an excuse for not developing your characters.

The villain in Homegrown Terror doesn’t deserve his degree in villainy nor his Villain Card to the House of Villains. He was weak, gullible, non-threatening, and ridiculous. What little we are told about his plan, doesn’t seem very well thought out if it can be easily thwarted by a teenager. I would have wanted to read more about his plan, his reason for his evil scheme (it was given, but delivered weakly), and read more about how he handled Kendra while she was captured. There weren’t enough details to make me understand why he was considered so dangerous or why he had chosen the POTUS (so as not to spoil anything) as his target.

The plot of the story isn’t exactly original and the writing needs a lot of work. I was shown everything, quite frankly, I was treated as if I was stupid. Was it purposeful? I don’t believe so, but it’s definitely something go watch out for when writing. For instance, if a character was upset, it would be written like this:

“Katie ended the call, screamed, and threw her phone at the wall. She was frustrated.”

I already know that Katie is frustrated by her actions, there is no need to tell me so. This kind of writing went on throughout the whole book unfortunately and didn’t contribute to the story in the least.
I’m afraid that Homegrown Terror was a disappointment, it wasn’t awful, just wasn’t as good as it could have been. I saw potential, it just wasn’t delivered.

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

