Bloom (Bloom Series) by A.P. Kensey

16193920[1]

(credit)

My Review: 1/5

Synopsis:

“THE POWER TO CREATE…THE POWER TO DESTROY.

Both are at your fingertips.

Chosen individuals have been gifted with extraordinary abilities in order to restore balance to the world—a balance that suffers amidst endless chaos.

HAVEN KINCAID is almost eighteen. After moving away from her friends before the start of her senior year, she struggles to fit in at her new school. When the boy of her dreams shows interest, she finally has a chance to be normal—but Haven is more different than she realizes. After a tragic loss and a deep betrayal, she is kidnapped by a sinister group that will do anything to extract a deadly ability she can barely control—even if they kill her in the process.

COLTON ROSS is fresh out of high school. Driven by a desire to escape his abusive father and haunted by the memory of an absent mother, he moves to New York City to start over. When a favor for his friend backfires and he ends up in jail, Colton is bailed out by a mysterious businessman who offers him the chance to strengthen his new-found power and discover the truth about his past—a truth that will set him on a quest for insatiable vengeance.

BLOOM is an action-packed fantasy adventure that tells the story of two young adults surviving in a dangerous world. As their journeys unfold and collide, they must risk their lives to defeat an evil that threatens to destroy everything they hold dear.”

My Review:

The amount of absolute disappointment I have for this book is astounding.The cover was what brought me in after I noticed the price (free) and I was a bit excited to start it. It seemed like it would be an interesting read. I was completely and totally wrong.

First thought after finishing the book: “That was ridiculously boring, I’m glad I survived.”
(I have a personal policy not to write a review about a book unless I finish it. I was too far in, to just give up.)

The characters were underdeveloped with a cliché story-line and cliché situations, terrible plot-pushing characters, and a villain that seemed about as threatening as a baby with a rattler.

Haven Kincaid, is a teenager in high-school with a fairly good life even though she’s just moved away from the home she loves. She has two adoring parents, a lovable brother, a loyal best friend, and a crush that just might turn into something more. At first, Haven has a bit of a bad streak. She’s upset over the move and therefore punishing “everyone else” by being disruptive at school. For some reason, her parents let this slide and instead of getting angry, they’re just worried. I don’t know about other people’s parents, but if I decided the best method of action to express myself was to get a bad reputation at school, I would be the one worried, not my parents. Haven comes off completely selfish by doing this, considering her Mom has to take off work and get Noah (Haven’s little brother) from daycare just to talk to the principal about Haven’s behavior. I didn’t see any amazing qualities in Haven nor did she act like she was capable of having any actual emotions. She was either over-reacting or under-reacting. But, I don’t think that that’s totally her fault. Everything that Haven felt was told to me, whether it was her screaming in anguish (spoiler) over her parents being killed in a random fire or trying to act tough when she confronts someone. If I was a villain, I would’ve fired a couple of energy bolts at her and laughed as she does a jig trying to avoid them. She was completely childish.

Haven’s best friend and Colton’s best friend, Kayla and Reece, respectively. All I can say is: Really? I’m not sure why Kensey thought it would be perfect to make the best friends of the main characters suddenly turn on them, but it didn’t make sense and annoyed me. I actually really liked Reece. He was a bit spoiled because of his rich parents, and didn’t know how to take responsibility for his actions; but he was lovable, fun, and I wanted him to stick around rather than suddenly betray Colton because of a girl. Kayla, on the other hand, she didn’t seem like a good best friend “match” for Haven anyway. Kayla liked to party and was really giggly and bubbly and energetic, while Haven came off as the more casual type of person. Not that those two types of people can’t be best friends, but Kayla was just so Kayla that it didn’t seem believable that she could be good friends with Haven. Which turns out to be true, since Kayla ignores Haven right after Haven goes through a traumatic experience (which reminds me, why does Haven never get therapy?) and then back-stabs her by dating the guy who just humiliated Haven. Good going.

There were a few other characters and some end up dying, but to be honest, I didn’t care. Their deaths were rushed and, since we weren’t given any back-story as to why they’re important to anyone, my reactions were just “Okay, bye then.”

The villain, Bernam, wasn’t very “villian-y.” He was pathetic and cliché. I didn’t feel threatened at all and it was obvious from the very start that he was the villain, but not a very good one. Out of all of the characters, I was most impressed with Alistair. He needed more development, but he seemed at least interesting.

The plot wasn’t awful, but because it wasn’t delivered well, it didn’t do it for me. The superhero concept is used very often, to write a book about it is a bold move. In order to pull it off, the writing has to be excellent.

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

