Wings of Arian (The Solus series) by Devri Walls

13517384[1]

(credit)

Official Rating: 4/5

Synopsis:

Kiora thought she had never heard a lie until she was sixteen. But she was wrong. Her entire existence was based on nothing but. She thought that evil did not exist. Lie. That magic was not real. Lie. And that the land of Meros was all there was. One more lie.
With Aleric telling her that evil is knocking on the door and that she is the only one who can stop them she has a choice to make. Refuse, or start the wildest most painful ride of her life.
She reluctantly dips her toe into her new existence of magic and threads, dragons and shapeshifters, and the person who wants to take control of it all: the evil Dralazar.
However, this journey was never meant to be hers alone. She will be accompanied by a Protector. To her disbelief, and utter irritation they name the hotheaded, stubborn, non -magical, (albeit gorgeous) Prince Emane. They will have to trust each other with their lives, but right now Kiora would settle for a non hostile conversation.
And now it comes down to this, If you had never heard a lie, would you know when you heard one? Is knowing good from evil innate? Kiora finds herself having to decide who lives and who dies on those very questions.

My Review:

I seriously enjoyed this book. It had me screaming with delight at so many points. However, I feel there was, once again, no reason to have a sequel. Will the sequel be good? It’s very possible. Will I read the sequel? No. The ending felt very “fake”, so to speak. As if Walls thought, “Hmm, I know this is written well, so let’s make a cliffhanger and make more books!” Am I saying that Walls did it for the money? No. Maybe she really did want to continue writing it, which is valid. Maybe it can’t fit into one book, and I can respect that. But, besides that, let’s talk about the book.

Kiora FINALLY. A realistic heroine I can admire. Kiora is powerful and she knows it, yet, she feels unqualified and unprepared for such a great burden. She doesn’t see herself as magnificent and magical as everyone else seems to see her and when she makes mistakes she seems herself unfit to lead. I sincerely appreciated that about her. She didn’t know she could do it, she didn’t expect everyone to follow her, she was just herself, slowly coming to terms that she must lead. I admire that she had weaknesses, made quite a lot of mistakes, some that hurt people, had the capacity to feel more than one emotion, and had the “I don’t understand, but I want to.” kind of mentality. She sincerely was a leader, and I would want to follow her. She didn’t insult her looks whenever she could, I don’t remember her insulting them at any moment. Unless, of course, she was muddy and bloody. While she was unsure of her capabilities, she was still willing to try. She did her best, even if it was hard. Kiora holds a past that brings her guilt, it explains why her parents are dead and why her sister is how she is. Yet, she refused to allow it to cripple her. I say all of this to say, Kiora was an excellent heroine. She had flaws, a pure heart, a mind willing to listen to wisdom, and the natural born gift to lead. A completely admirable character.

Emane. The character development is all I can say. He went from an infuriating and arrogant Prince, to a loving, caring, young man who let his emotional guard down when the situation called for it. He had fears, flaws, issues with talking about his feelings,raw and patient love, and also the “I don’t understand, but I want to.” mentality. He was an amazing character with depth and I loved him dearly.

The secondary characters. I will be brief since I want to move on quickly to one last character and finally my overall judgement for the writing, but the secondary characters all had depth and secrets to them. From the Pegasus to the dragons, they were all done flawlessly.

Speaking of dragons, Morcant. I absolutely adored Morcant. I could see him in my mind and hear his smooth deep voice as it gave words of wisdom and it was as magnificent as a dragon should be.

Overall, the writing was wonderful. Toward the end, it seemed to fall a bit flat, but there were no grammatical errors that I could see and only one or two spelling errors which didn’t distract from the story. Walls wove a tale that I was captured in and I greatly enjoyed my time spent in Meros. I do highly recommend this book. The sole reason why I didn’t give it a five stars is because of how the ending was brought about, despite that, everything else was flawless.

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

