Identity (Eyes Wide Open series) by Ted Dekker

17187018[1]

(credit)

Official rating: 3.5/5

Synopsis:

“Identity is Book 1 of a four episode thrill ride from New York Times bestselling author Ted Dekker.

Who am I?

My name is Christy Snow. I’m seventeen and I’m about to die.

I’m buried in a coffin under tons of concrete. No one knows where I am. My heart sounds like a monster with clobber feet, running straight toward me. I’m lying on my back, soaked with sweat from the hair on my head to the soles of my feet. My hands and feet won’t stop shaking.

Some will say that I’m not really here. Some will say I’m delusional. Some will say that I don’t even exist. But who are they? I’m the one buried in a grave.

My name is Christy Snow. I’m seventeen. I’m about to die.

So who are you?

In a return to the kind of storytelling that made Black, Showdown and Three unforgettable, New York Times bestselling author Ted Dekker drags that question into the light with this modern day parable about how we see ourselves.

Humming with intensity and blindsided twists, Eyes Wide Open is raw adrenaline from the first page to the last pure escapism packed with inescapable truth. Not all is as it seems. Or is it? Strap yourself in for the ride of your life. Literally.”

My review:

I wasn’t sure what I had expected from reading the synopsis (which I didn’t remember by the time I opened up this book), but it wasn’t this. I was completely engrossed in what was going to happen next, to the point where class had started ten minutes ago and I was accidentally ignoring a classmate who was trying to hand me the attendance sheet.

This episode was intense and if there was a line between a tiny bit scared and really intrigued I’d have one foot on each side. For whatever reason, I was expecting to read a book about Christy Snow, who is going to find herself and somehow the locket on the front cover is tied into that journey. Instead, I read an episode about Christy Snow getting trapped in a hair-raising predicament with a dangerous enemy that’s a bit unrealistic.

This is the first thriller book I’ve ever read (by accident) and it was good. The writing was great, little to no mistakes, with description that made the situations become vivid. However I had a few issues with it.

  1. Christy finds “ten pounds” to be fat. While I do understand that girls struggle with accepting their weight, ten pounds? I’m not sure why Dekker decided to slip that in there, but I wish it was explained a little more.
  2. Does Dekker understand how psychiatric wards work? Because I don’t. But, I do know this, unless everyone in the psychiatric ward is in on this scheme, the way they go about confirming patients is inefficient and ridiculous in this day and age (assuming it’s this day and age).
  3. (Spoiler) When Christy gets trapped underground because of the trap door, instead of wasting her battery on her dying phone by using the flashlight, why didn’t she call someone? If she had, the whole situation would have been fine. And let’s be honest, it would have been better to call the police rather than your best friend.
  4. Why would Christy answer the shrink provided by someone holding her against her will? If the psychiatric ward is corrupt, why would you want them to know exactly what’s going on with you? Keep that private so they have nothing on you.
  5.  If someone held you against your will in a psychiatric ward and insists that you’re someone else, would your first thought be: “Am I this person? Am I crazy and they’re telling the truth?” If it is then that’s a serious case of identity confusion. A few hours and you’re already ready to believe that you’re delusional and don’t know who you are? Come on, Christy.

There isn’t much to say about it since it’s only about six chapters long, but just to add, on Goodreads this series is tagged as Christian fiction. I’m not sure how he’ll tie Christianity into it, but I hope Dekker won’t mess it up. I would recommend this episode, it will take you about twenty minutes or so to read (depending on if you’re multitasking).

Leave some feedback and tell me what you thought!

